Jennifer Green

How long have you been cooperating?
1 year 8 months. I have experience in natural foods and higher-end grocery stores.

What do you do at the co-op?
My main job is as a cook in the Café but I started off as a cashier. I’ve also had the opportunity to work in the bulk department, grocery, and also work in the front end of the store.

What brought you to the co-op?
First thing that caught my eye was the local and organic products being sold. I have a passion for healthy eating after losing over 100 lbs and keeping it off for many years by focusing on what I put into my body and I’m excited to share that with other people.

What do you like best about your job?
My coworkers! The Café is a busy, multi-dimensional entity that requires a strong team and thanks to Andrea we finally have that team. The owners and customers make it really easy to want to come to work and give my all in making them happy. I feel valued and respected based on what I have accomplished.

Tell us your co-op favorites:
Chocolate Avocado Mousse!! Blue Monkey Sparkling Watermelon Juice. And the Chocolove Dark Chocolate Almond Butter Cups.

How has working at the co-op affected your life?
It has made me a happier and more positive person overall. I have found better ways of communicating and have a healthier outlook on life.

Tell us something we don’t know! (Tell us something about yourself others might not know):
I used to travel with the carnival, setting up, tearing down, and operating carnival rides. I got injured during set up in Texas and haven’t been able to wear cute boots since. I can also make and work with fondant and gum paste. I taught myself cake decorating when I was a stay-at-home mom.

What do you like to do outside of work?
I have a lot of creative projects lying around. I love coloring! but strive for realism... haven’t gotten there yet. I just started hand embroidery. I also enjoy wood carving and have made a few walking sticks. I really love cooking for my family and friends.

Where did you grow up/where have you lived in your life?
I was born in San Diego and spent most of my adolescence in foster care moving from home to home. My adult life started in Los Angeles, when I turned 21 I started traveling on my own using Greyhound. Decided to join the carnival one summer when I was in Colorado because I had nothing better to do. Went to Arizona, got pregnant and stayed for 10 years. Traveling bug got me so packed up hubby and kiddo and hit the road. After a couple of false starts we found ourselves living in a van in California. Came to Oregon to care for my terminally ill mother and learned a lot about myself during that time.