Jimmy Breedlove

How long have you been co-operating?
I have been working for MFC since November of 2012.  I had never set foot in a co-op prior to applying for a position here.

What do you do at the Co-op?
I wear several different hats.  Primarily, I am the Front End Manager.  I am responsible for register training, cash handling accuracy, and customer service among several other areas.  I am also the Scan Coordinator.  I put together our sales, enter new products into the system, and update product information as needed (which is pretty much all the time).  Finally, I am also the Demo Coordinator. Admittedly, I usually don’t give this area as much attention as it deserves, but I try to hit home runs when we have events.

What brought you to the Co-op?
I had become stagnant in a corporate retail position.  I spent a lot of time looking for a company that was located in and concerned about our community.  I have found a home at MFC.

What do you like best about your job?
We have some of the most amazing customers I have had the pleasure to work with.  New employees are often impressed (and mildly confused) by how friendly our shoppers and owners are.  I count myself among that number.

Tell us your Co-op favorites:
I have developed quite the fondness for our cheese collection.  Brie, grass-fed smoked cheddar, and manchego top my list of current favorites.  I’ve also rediscovered my Southern roots in our collards and dried beans.

How has working at the Co-op affected your life?
Working here has caused several positive changes in my regular diet (less sugar, more plant-based proteins).  Combine this with the inspiration that is my wonderful and very active girlfriend, and I am healthier than I have been in my adult life (if still a little heavier than I would like).

Tell us something we don’t know!:
Pincer bugs, aka earwigs, freak me out!  Did you know they actually have wings and can fly short distances?

What do you like to do outside of work?
I really enjoy cooking and trying out new recipes.  I’m currently working my way through Thug Kitchen: The Official Cookbook which is expletive filled and completely fantastic.  I also enjoy table-top role playing games (think D&D).

Where did you grow up/where have you lived your life?
While I was born in Nacogdoches, Texas, I grew up in White City.  I lived in Central Point for about nine months after college before moving to Medford in late 2007.