Kathy Damas

How long have you been cooperating?
My work with MFC began in January of 2020.

What do you do at the co-op?
I’m the Board Administrative Assistant. In this relatively new position, I report to the General Manager while my behind-the-scenes job is to support the Board of Directors. I do this through tasks such as taking meeting minutes, maintaining calendars and documents, and doing research.

Kudos to MFC’s long-term Board Secretary Debi Boen, who did all of these tasks for years while simultaneously serving on the Board.

What brought you to the co-op?
My diverse experiences and luck! In addition to a life-long interest in health, I’ve held many administrative roles over the years and I also have a degree in environmental biology. As a National Board Certified Health and Wellness Coach in private practice, I’m acutely aware of the role that quality food plays in a healthy lifestyle. This position allows me to support the organization while fulfilling my values and allowing me to be of service with like-minded people on a mission.

What do you like best about your job?
I’m enjoying getting to know the inner-workings of the organization. Gradually, I’m becoming more familiar with the staff and Board members, which I value. My job suits my introverted-extrovert nature. I’m looking forward to more in-person interactions as the pandemic safety conditions allow.

Tell us your co-op favorites:
The golden beet salad from The Café is amazing! I’m also currently addicted to our local radish kimchi from Cindy Yi, Whistling Duck’s fresh spinach, and the dark chocolate-covered ginger from the Bulk area.

How has working at the co-op affected your life?
Learning about the Co-op through my work here has amplified my commitment to supporting local food growers, producers, and sellers. I’m also really interested in supporting ways to provide all people with healthy, whole food and the skills to prepare it economically and deliciously.

Tell us something we don’t know! (Tell us something about yourself others might not know):
I’ve been to all 50 states (Georgia counts, I promise!) and on many amazing international travels. One of my first creative loves was calligraphy, which I’ve dabbled in for years; I even had my own business for awhile. And, my husband and I landed in the Rogue Valley after an extended road-trip adventure.

What do you like to do outside of work?
Walk, hike, run, create meals, play games, connect with friends near and far, dance in the kitchen, and generally enjoy hanging out with my husband of 30+ years. Anytime I can spend on the Oregon coast feeds my soul.

Where did you grow up/where have you lived in your life?
I’m a native of Boulder, Colorado and spent my formative years and much of my adulthood in that area (I can’t say I’ve “grown up” with a straight face!). I’ve also lived in Alaska, Nebraska, Ohio, Texas, Washington, and now Oregon since 2013. I love living here - it feels like home.